Scapple and other platforms (iOS, Windows etc)

KB
Site Admin
Platform: Mac

Sat Oct 27, 2012 2:06 pm Post

Seeing as we're getting a lot of questions about whether Scapple is going to be made for iOS or Windows, I figured I'd answer those questions here to save having to repeat myself.

Before continuing, it's important to bear in mind that Scapple was really my own personal pet project--it was something I wanted for my own writing. As a Mac developer, I wrote it on the Mac, and over a couple of years, in my spare time away from working on Scrivener, I polished it up for release.

At this time, most of our non-Mac resources are tied up with getting Scrivener for Windows to have feature parity with the Mac version, and with developing Scrivener for mobile devices (starting with iOS). Our existing Scrivener users certainly wouldn't thank us if we diverted development resources for these other platforms away from Scrivener. Moreover, as I write, Scapple has only just been released. We have no idea whether it will even be popular enough to justify its development on other platforms--although we hope it will be!

1. Will there be a Windows version of Scapple?

We certainly hope so. Lee, the Scrivener for Windows lead developer, is very interested in producing a version of Scapple for Windows. However, his first priority is Scrivener, and getting the Windows version up to speed with the Mac version. So any work he does on Scapple will be in his spare time, and he has very little of that right now. Scapple is a fairly simple application compared to Scrivener (although it's still tens of thousands of lines of code), but even so, it has taken me over two years to get from my initial noodlings with the idea to something that is ready for release, simply because Scrivener consumes most of my waking hours.