17th MAY - BETA 024 RELEASED FOR LINUX

LAP
Platform: Windows

Mon May 16, 2011 8:51 pm Post

Hi Beta Testers,

Beta 024 has been released for Linux. The expiry for this beta is 30th June 2011 and can be downloaded here: http://www.scrivenerforwindows.com

Lee

at
atwag
Platform: Linux

Wed May 18, 2011 12:56 pm Post

When trying to install the Linux beta (24), I'm consistently getting the following error:
libphonon.so.4: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64

I realize that this beta is compiled for a 32 bit system, and mine is a 64 bit, but I've not been able to trace down the appropriate file (or fix). I am currently working with Scrivener using Wine - but I would like to use the native Linux if possible. Great product, by the way.

ph
phibxr

Wed May 18, 2011 5:27 pm Post

I've made an ugly hack to make sure the bundled libraries are loaded consisting of a simple wrapper script dumped in the bin-directory.

Disclaimer: I am not a developer, and noone would likely call me careful either. If this screws up your PATH-variables and transforms your dog into salami, well, just go ahead and blame me. :)

/home/(your username)/LiteratureAndLatte/bin/scrivener.sh:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/(your username)/LiteratureAndLatte/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
exec /home/(your username)/LiteratureAndLatte/bin/Scrivener

After creating this file, run:

~/LiteratureAndLatte/bin$ chmod +x scrivener.sh
./scrivener.sh

This should make sure that the proper libs are loaded.

at
atwag

Wed May 18, 2011 11:29 pm Post

phibxr -
The ugly hack worked like a charm. Thank you - and the dog is fine. Also, the Linux version works much better than the Wine wrapped Windows version.
bill

ej
ejket
Platform: Mac, Win + Linux

Sun May 29, 2011 5:41 am Post

The file I get is LinuxScrivenerBeta14.tgz -- is this just mislabeled?

Also on 32-bit Archlinux it doesn't run for me, even after the above fix for the libraries.