Outlining for Dummies

my
mythusmage
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:29 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:43 am Post

So I open a project and click on "manuscript" in the binder. When that opens I click on the outliner card and get a basic outline of what's underneath "manuscript". I'm not clear as to what to do next. What do I do next? It helps when I have clear instructions.

User avatar
kewms
Posts: 3239
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:13 am Post

What do you want to do next? Create more files? Add synopsis information to the files you have? Re-organize? Add word count targets?

If you haven't already, I'd recommend looking at the Interactive Tutorial project, available from the Help menu. It's a good introduction to the parts of the interface and how they work together?

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team

my
mythusmage
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:29 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:52 am Post

Essentially, create more files.

User avatar
kewms
Posts: 3239
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:00 pm Post

The Project -> New Text and -> New Folder commands work anywhere in the project. (Corkboard, Outliner, Binder.) You'll also see these commands in the Add sub-menu if you right-click in any of those locations.

Both the Corkboard and Outliner have "Add" and "Add Folder icons down at the bottom left corner of the pane. So does the Binder.

In the Scrivener -> Preferences -> Corkboard pane, you can set an option to create a new card by double-clicking the background.

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team

my
mythusmage
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:29 am
Platform: Windows

Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:22 am Post

I had the feeling. Ever think of letting the user put an insertion point in the editing field, hit "return", increase indent if necessary, then enter the name of the new document which would then appear in the binder?

User avatar
kewms
Posts: 3239
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:44 am Post

Why would it make sense for text in the Editor to be transferred to the Binder?

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team

 

 

cron