Bug? Feature? Setting?

Tr
Tribalrose
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 12:10 am
Platform: Mac + Windows

Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:29 pm Post

I have the latest beta on my desktop computer (Windows 7). I tried a new project from the Fiction, Novel template and found that if I set it up to have Chapters (folders) then Scenes (text), I can't type in the Chapters. I can type in and edit the Synopsis for a Chapter, but can't type in the Editor for the Chapter.

I tried a different Fiction template to see, and it behaved the same way.

Changing the Label from Folder to Text does nothing. Still can't type.

Neither 3.0.1 on my Mac nor 1.9.7.0 on my Windows laptop behave this way. I can insert a new chapter folder and type in the Editor for it just fine.

With further experimentation, I find that if I make a new Text file in the beta Windows Scriv on my desktop, I can type in that, move it to Folder level, change the label to Folder (which makes for the Folder with Text icon) and everything works from there.

So, do I have some locking setting on I can't find? Is the beta meant to be this way, or is this a bug?

Usually I wouldn't even have discovered this, as I don't put text in Chapter folders. However, I was trying to create my own version of a beat sheet template that has instructions in the Chapter folders and so did run right into this problem.

Ar
Argoed
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:17 am
Platform: Windows

Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm Post

Hello TR,
Just a quick post. I read your post and tried the same thing but successfully managed to type in some chapter text. Possibly a setting somewhere then?

Tr
Tribalrose
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 12:10 am
Platform: Mac + Windows

Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:00 pm Post

I wondered if it was some setting, but couldn't find it. I uninstalled and reinstalled the program, and it's still behaving that way. Guess I'll ignore it for now and see what happens with the next beta. I'm only playing with the Windows betas and don't have the courage to use them for any real work.

User avatar
DavidR
Posts: 500
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:21 am
Platform: Windows

Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:01 pm Post

Might be best to report this on the Beta forum.
David
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.7
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

What's the difference between a free lance and a loose cannon?

Tr
Tribalrose
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 12:10 am
Platform: Mac + Windows

Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:07 am Post

Okay, I guess someone else can decide if it's a bug or not.