"New Text\New Folder" always creates a template instead of a blank document

Ka
Kasani
Platform: Windows

Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:39 pm Post

Hello!

I'm a newbie to Scrivener (just started using it last week). The first thing I did upon making my project was to create a handful of templates for different types of character sheets. But now, whenever I try to create a new file, unless I specifically use "New from template..." it automatically assigns one of the templates that I created. The same one, every time. Which makes it impossible to create a simple blank document. I have tried cancelling the templates folder, and I even deleted the template that keeps getting used, and emptied the trashcan, so theoretically that particular character sheet template no longer exists within the project. However, even despite that, whenever I try to create a new file or folder (via "New File" or "New Folder") it creates that same character sheet instead, even though it shouldn't even exist anymore. It's extremely exasperating. I just want to be able to create blank documents. Where am I going wrong here?

Thanks!

DavidR

Tue Dec 26, 2017 6:04 pm Post

I don't use templates much myself, so I've never encountered this. But it has been reported a couple of times, e.g., here and here. The most recent post there, a few weeks ago, goes somewhat more deeply into the problem. But I don't think anyone from Scrivener support has suggested an explanation, other than to request that users send them the problematic files.
David
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.7
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

What's the difference between a free lance and a loose cannon?

Ka
Kasani

Tue Dec 26, 2017 11:17 pm Post