I managed to delete something in the tutorial?

rh
rhoen
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:44 am
Platform: Windows

Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:07 am Post

I was trying to use the quick tutorial and thought that the minus button to the right of 'Quick Start' might collapse the section. It made things disappear, and as I was on the very first page of the tutorial... Well, I have no idea how to get them back. I've also discovered that the program saves as you go, so closing it and opening it back up again didn't help.

wtf.PNG
wtf.PNG (2.34 KiB) Viewed 137 times


So 1. what is that and 2. how do I get the list of... pages(?) back so I can complete the tutorial? (Also please don't suggest watching the videos or anything like that, I have APD and other learning disabilities and work best in this kind of situation with very clear written/photographic instructions)

br
brookter
Posts: 1361
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:19 am Post

A couple of things could have happened: you may have deleted the actual documents, or you may have simply have removed the documents from the 'Collection' (which is what Quick Start is...), so the underlying documents are still there. I think you've probably done the latter, but there are ways of recovering from both these problems.

But if you've only just started the Tutorial then the simplest thing is simply to start again by creating a new tutorial.

EDIT: (see comments below...)
Close the tutorial and delete it in Explorer, start a new project and just Interactive Tutorial or click on the Help Menu and choose the Interactive Tutorial option.

You can trash anything you like in a Tutorial project and you can always get a fresh copy this way.

HTH.
Last edited by brookter on Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rh
rhoen
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:44 am
Platform: Windows

Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:04 pm Post

Thank you!

Selecting a tutorial from the help menu didn't work - it just opened the same thing with the pieces missing, but closing the program, deleting the tutorial file and then starting again helped.

Much appreciated!

User avatar
kewms
Posts: 3219
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:44 pm Post

brookter wrote:But if you've only just started the Tutorial then the simplest thing is simply to start again by creating a new tutorial.

Click on the Help Menu and choose the Interactive Tutorial option. It will ask you for a file name and location, so just give it a different name for now (you can delete the old copy in Explorer afterwards).

You can trash anything you like in a Tutorial project and you can always get a fresh copy this way.


Actually, you have to delete the old Tutorial first, then create the new one.

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team

br
brookter
Posts: 1361
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:06 pm Post

kewms wrote:
Actually, you have to delete the old Tutorial first, then create the new one.

Katherine


Thanks -- amended the original to avoid confusion...