Error Msg -- Scrivener Won't Load

sk
skidawayme
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:28 am
Platform: Windows

Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:37 pm Post

Hi:

Wouldn't you know, Day 1 of Nano and Scrivener refuses to load :!: Returns this error message.
scrivener error message 11-1-17.png
scrivener error message 11-1-17.png (8.29 KiB) Viewed 607 times


Any help, please? I'm nervous about downloading a new version of Scrivener over the top of the problematical one. What is the correct procedure?

Thanks for any help!
Jane

at
atleigh
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:18 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:22 pm Post

Unfortunately, this problem is also happening to me as well. It recommended uninstalling, which I did.... Now it simply will not load onto my laptop. I am following this thread!

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 20600
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:31 pm Post

Uninstalling and then downloading a fresh copy and reinstalling is the route I would take. If that doesn’t work it would probably be best to contact tech support.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 902
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: Monroe, WA USA
Contact:

Thu Nov 02, 2017 6:28 pm Post

After you uninstall, reboot.

Make sure whatever security software you're using isn't being hyperactive and flagging it as a false positive. You may have to disable your anti-virus/anti-malware/internet security solution while you're downloading and installing Scrivener.

Then, download and re-install.

On Windows 10, using just the native Microsoft tools, I have never had this trouble. I have seen a couple of reports from people using third-party software running into this issue.
--
Devin L. Ganger
Devin on Earth: http://www.devinonearth.com/
Plotter on the streets, pantser in the sheets

sk
skidawayme
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:28 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Nov 02, 2017 9:22 pm Post

Hi Devin & Amber:

Thanks for the suggestions. Before I saw your messages, I came across a file on my computer called Scrivener Installer. I clicked it and it ran a program, after which Scrivener was again fine. Not sure what all this means or whether I'm now using the latest version of Scrivener but it's working and I'm writing and that's what counts. Will tuck your recommendations away in case it acts up again.

Thanks again!
Jane

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 20600
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Fri Nov 03, 2017 1:27 pm Post

It sounds like maybe on of the files it depends on got messed up or went missing. Running the installer again like you did would have restored all of the files it needs and fixed things up. Glad it was an easy fix!

Good luck with the NaNo!
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

cg
cgarstang
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 1:24 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Nov 03, 2017 1:29 pm Post

So glad I saw this discussion. I also got this error msg. this morning. I found the installation file on my laptop and reinstalled. I then had to update the file and update my project, but I'm up and running again.

sk
skidawayme
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:28 am
Platform: Windows

Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:10 pm Post

Thanks, Amber. Happy writing to everybody! So-o much easier with Scrivener. :D
Jane

ra
randydutton
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:02 pm
Platform: Windows

Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:13 pm Post

First time I installed Scrivener, it worked to the point I was able to use the tutorial. Next day I tried to start a project, and after starting, it crashed. I get the same 'Scrivener.exe Bad Image' error everytime I now try to load it. I've reloaded Scrivener and still I get the error. I don't see a Scrivener Install file mentioned in another post. I've emailed tech support and awaiting an answer. My Windows 10 is up-to-date.

I tried attaching a .docx to show the error and this blog won't accept it. Why not?

cr
crazyfoxxy
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:18 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:30 pm Post

Devin,

You said: "Make sure whatever security software you're using isn't being hyperactive and flagging it as a false positive. You may have to disable your anti-virus/anti-malware/internet security solution while you're downloading and installing Scrivener."

I'm using McAfee and noticed that certain files like QtGui4.dll and QtWebKit4.dll has been reduced to 0 kb. Is it possible the the Windows update which I just did a few days ago is deleting this file? Is it possible that McAfee is doing this? When I uninstalled and re-installed, it worked once, then stopped working with the error.

Thanks, I'm unable to use Scrivener at the moment, and I'm desperate for a solution.

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 902
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: Monroe, WA USA
Contact:

Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:34 pm Post

It is probably McAfee -- Windows updates won't touch those files, but security software will quarantine them if they see them as a false positive. You may be able to override McAfee and tell it to restore those files, or you may need to uninstall McAfee, then reinstall Scrivener, then set up McAfee to exclude the Scrivener folder.
--
Devin L. Ganger
Devin on Earth: http://www.devinonearth.com/
Plotter on the streets, pantser in the sheets

cr
crazyfoxxy
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:18 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:50 pm Post

Thank you Devin, I got McAfee on the phone and we uninstalled and reinstalled Scrivener then excluded the three .dll files that were being quarantined. Scrivener is working again, hopefully it stays that way!

Thank you for your help!