"Name of setting" appears in every new file

Co
CocoonAuthor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:21 pm
Platform: Windows

Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:25 pm Post

Hi!
Everytime I add a new file to my chapter, the sketch for places, always appears on it. So everytime I try to add a new file to my chapters, I have to rename the doc, and delete the "Name of Setting" document.. All the tutorials I've seen, shows a blank page being added, so I must have clicked something wrong.. How do I fix this?

Regards, Marianne

br
broadsides

Sat Jun 10, 2017 6:22 pm Post

How are you trying to add the new file? Make sure you are in the binder at the place you want the new document to be and ensure you are using the new file or green + button and not selecting new from template. By default I believe the new from template selects a setting or character sketch in some templates.

Co
CocoonAuthor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:21 pm
Platform: Windows

Sat Jun 10, 2017 7:26 pm Post

Can I change that default?
I am highlighting the chapterfolder, and I have tried everything from duplicate, the green + button, the add-button in the bottom, and 'add new file'.. Stil comes up with the setting sheet..

ja
janhope
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:02 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:13 pm Post

I am having this same problem. This Name of Setting file even replaced my 'scene' (blank) in my templates folder and I can't get rid of it. It's hindering my ability to work and set up new scenes. I don't want to keep deleting all the text out of the preset template, but that seems to be the only workaround, besides lengthening my current scenes to include several sub-scenes. It's not ideal.
I just tried upgrading the software hoping it might fix the problem but it hasn't. Thanks for any help.

Co
CocoonAuthor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:21 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:43 pm Post

Janhope
That's exactly what is happening!
I hope someone can find us a solution

Online
User avatar
lunk
Posts: 2831
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:24 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Sweden 64° N

Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:53 pm Post

Where in the Binder are your chapters placed? As children to the Manuscript/Draft folder, or as siblings? Could you provide a screenshot? It sounds as if Scrivener thinks you are outside the Draft, in the part where you have Scenes and Characters.
I am a user, writing non-fiction and science, using:
* Mac Scrivener 3 on a Macbook 12”, MacBook Pro 13”, and iMac 27”, all running the latest MacOS
* iOS Scrivener 1 on an iPhone 8, iPad Air 9.7”, and iPad Pro 12.9”, all running the latest iOS

ja
janhope
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:02 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:12 am Post

Thank you, lunk! Based on your note, I checked my folder organization and saw that some of my more recently added chapters were farther out to the left than the majority of my chapter sub-folders. When I pushed those too-far-out folders over to the right a couple of levels, the problem went away and new files opened as untitled blank scenes again. It's weird, but at least now I know when those unwelcome 'name of setting' files come up what made it happen and can adjust. Thanks again.

Se
Sean Davidson
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:39 am
Platform: Windows

Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:47 am Post

I'm having the same issue. In my case, it's using a Character template. I've tried deleting the template and the template folder. It still brings up that template (even though it no longer exists) when creating a new text file. I've tried all of the different methods for creating a file and verified that I was within the manuscript folder. It doesn't do it every time but most of the time. Once I got it to create a blank file I created a few more and then on the fifth new file it reverted back to the template text. I've tried deleting the template text from the newly created file but it's maintaining the formatting that was in the template. It's making it very frustrating to use.

Ji
JimRac
Posts: 781
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:06 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:38 pm Post

Hi Sean,

Even though you deleted the templates and template folder, they still exist and are active in trash. Delete them from trash and see what happens.

If the problem keeps occurring, could you please post screenshots as suggested by Lunk. Would want to see the folder selected and what button you are clicking to do your "add".

Jim

Se
Sean Davidson
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:39 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Jun 22, 2017 5:57 am Post

JimRac wrote:Hi Sean,

Even though you deleted the templates and template folder, they still exist and are active in trash. Delete them from trash and see what happens.

If the problem keeps occurring, could you please post screenshots as suggested by Lunk. Would want to see the folder selected and what button you are clicking to do your "add".

Jim

Hi Jim,
Yes I had cleared the trash. I had also closed and reopened the project after deleting the trash. I just did it again to get a screenshot. As shown in the screenshot, I created 3 new files without issue (the untitled files above the problem file) but on the fourth file, it reverted to using the template. I was creating the new file by selecting the preceding file to the location I wanted ("Sabrina does KP duty" in the pic) then clicking on the green plus button.
scrivenerScreenShot.png
scrivenerScreenShot.png (86.61 KiB) Viewed 1321 times

Se
Sean Davidson
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:39 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Jun 22, 2017 6:02 am Post

Also, I did get feedback from the support email this morning. I was advised to create a new project and move all of my files into the new project. This has solved the immediate issue but without knowing what caused it to happen, I don't know how to avoid it in the future.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 22405
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:04 pm Post

If you could send a copy of that project to the support person you are in contact with then we could maybe figure what is going on by seeing the problem for ourselves and what options are set for the project. It’s not likely to be a simple switch you can toggle since there aren’t any features that would work the way that is being described.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

jo
joespringza
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:43 am
Platform: Windows

Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:59 am Post

I've got the same issue with the Character Sketch forcing itself as my default template wherever I use it.

Creating Characters was the first thing I wanted to do, so I started working in a new folder I made, called Characters. It defaulted new pages to the Character Sketch template. I didn't like that and so I found that renaming my Characters folder to Character List allowed all new pages to default as blank, which I preferred. Now, if I go into my draft and actually want to start writing a story, the new files come up as Character Sketches.

Literally no matter where I create a new file it always uses the Character Sketch template. Is this a bug or can I change a setting somewhere?

Looking closely, I see that Ctrl-N is common between New File and New from Template. That doesn't seem right.

scrivener issue.jpg
scrivener issue.jpg (21.76 KiB) Viewed 1263 times

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 22405
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:27 am Post

The shortcut for the second is Ctrl-T, Ctrl-N, not just Ctrl-N. If you don’t use the T first it won’t trigger.

That aside, thanks for the additional info, but unfortunately nothing has really changed from my earlier remark. This isn’t programmed behaviour and I can’t get it to reproduce with these instructions. So really the best way for us to debug this will be to send in a live example—unless you can find a way to reliably reproduce it from a Blank start.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:01 pm Post

I have the exact same problem with one of my projects.

Whenever I create a new document it uses a template that is prefilled with text.

Even stranger is that the template is already deleted and my Trach folder is empty.
Krastev
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.9.0
Windows 7 & Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows