Project Statistics Showing Zero For Word Count

la
lagamine
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:58 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue May 17, 2016 10:06 pm Post

When I go to Project > Project Statistics the manuscript section shows my word count as zero even though I'm up to 17,000 words. My chapters are all in the manuscript folder and they all have Include In Compile checked.

La
Lanie
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:49 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue May 17, 2016 10:33 pm Post

Maybe look under Project > Project Targets. If that also shows 0 word count, then just double-check the files are actually in the Manuscript folder and not beneath it. I've had that happen a few times, thinking my files are there when they actually aren't.

If that doesn't help, can you take a screenshot and post that?

la
lagamine
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:58 pm
Platform: Windows

Wed May 18, 2016 8:54 pm Post

Manuscript target is working correctly and my files are in the manuscript folder as they appear and disappear when collapsed.

Attached a screenshot showing my manuscript folder and the project statistics window.
Attachments
scrivenerscreenshotsm.png
scrivenerscreenshotsm.png (450.96 KiB) Viewed 1586 times

Li
Linus
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 7:47 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows
Location: Germany

Thu May 19, 2016 6:36 pm Post

It looks as if you have all scenes directly under the Manuscript folder. This is rather uncommon and if you have not changed the default compile setting to include text from level 1 documents, then compile will come up empty and thus will the "Manuscript" word count. Your 17k+ words are actually there as can be seen from the fact that they appear under the "Selection" section.

Test it with a compile run and output to preview. I would guess that it comes up empty and therefore also the word count is 0. Either build a folder structure underneath Manuscript to match your compile settings or change the compile settings to include level 1 document text.

la
lagamine
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:58 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu May 19, 2016 9:39 pm Post

I've got it working now, thanks. Didn't know that it corresponded to the compile settings.

Co
Cosmic Geoff
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 3:48 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:19 pm Post

I found that if I typed any character into a scene showing a 0 word count, the word count would reappear. Even if I deleted the character again.

mo
mossy2100
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:46 am
Platform: Mac

Fri May 04, 2018 5:50 am Post

Linus wrote:It looks as if you have all scenes directly under the Manuscript folder. This is rather uncommon...


Why is this uncommon? Is there a better way to organise documents in the Manuscript folder?