$levelN_title losing underscore before processing in header & footer on compile to PDF

Ca
Carradee
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 11:38 am
Platform: Mac
Contact:

Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:42 pm Post

The "<$levelN_title>" works fine if I put it in my main document or as a prefix on a section layout, (I've tested multiple numbers.)

When I put it in the header or footer, instead of processing to show that level title, I'm getting "<$levelNtitle>". Ergo, my interpretation of the bug. :)

I've tried the various auto-search and replace settings (both in compile defaults and on compile), and those don't touch it.

To replicate this error:
  • Select something with multiple levels for Compile.
  • Select a PDF format.
  • Go into Edit Format… > Page Settings > Header and Footer Text.
  • Use the "<$levelN_title>" in the header and/or footer area.
  • Compile.
  • You should then see "<$levelNtitle>" in the header and/or footer.
Wanna hydroplane?
--My brother (while driving)

User avatar
Silverdragon
Posts: 712
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:52 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Tarzana, California, USA
Contact:

Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:29 pm Post

According to the complete placeholder list under the Help menu:
Headers and Footers

Not all placeholders are supported in headers and footers. In addition to the special header and footer placeholders specified below (which can only be used in headers and footers), only the placeholders listed under the sections Page Numbers, Current Date and Time, and User and Project Information are supported in headers and footers.

$levelN_title is listed under Document Variables, and so is not available in the headers and footers. I'd like to use the Document Variables in headers myself, which is how I found out. :-(
So you know where I'm coming from:
  • I'm a user, not an L&L employee.
  • Mac Scrivener 3.0.3, MacBook Air 11, MacOS 10.13.6 (High Sierra)
  • IOS Scrivener 1.1.5, iPhone 6s, iPad Air 2, iOS 12.0

Ca
Carradee
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 11:38 am
Platform: Mac
Contact:

Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:51 pm Post

Ah. Missed that.

Still makes me wonder why the underscore gets stripped. Hmm.

Thanks! :)
Wanna hydroplane?
--My brother (while driving)

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20211
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:52 pm Post

Because underscores and asterisks are used to create underlined, italicised and bold text in headers and footers.
All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."