version 3 : can't change fonts in prerences/apparence

So
Solila
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:53 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS

Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:31 pm Post

Hello,
I'm just trying scrivener version 3.0 before make transition fro version 2.

For me, it seems to have a bug in preferences, for changing appearance/fonts :
as usual, i click within the rectangular area "font", and now, in version 3, the font menu don't stay open, so i can't change fonts.
The font menu is opening under 1 seconde, chen i click on the area "police system 12" (as in the screeshot), and desapear.
I can't make a screenshot of that because the font menu desapear to fast.

Help please…
(and forget my to bad english…)
Attachments
Capture d’écran 2017-11-26 à 14.29.48.png
Capture d’écran 2017-11-26 à 14.29.48.png (79.62 KiB) Viewed 172 times

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19158
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:00 pm Post

Hi,

This sounds like this bug:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=40619

In which case, it's fixed for the next update (I hope!).

Thanks!
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

So
Solila
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:53 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS

Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:57 pm Post

I think it is different.
I can’t catch the font menu web i click to open it.
I click to open font menu, font menu is opening but doesn’t stay open.
The problem seems to be only in preferences.

I made a test with older version, and its the same.
A problem from sierra?
I jumped from captain to sierra yesterday, and i didn’t have this matter before, with Captain and Scrivener 2....

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19158
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Nov 26, 2017 4:18 pm Post

That is very strange. All Scrivener does is open the font panel - it doesn't close it again. What happens if you try to open the font panel in other apps? For instance, try opening TextEdit and hit Cmd-T to bring up the font panel - does it stay in place there?
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

So
Solila
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:53 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS

Sun Nov 26, 2017 4:38 pm Post

Hello, thank you, you understood exactly the problem :-)

I just tried with textedit and Cmd-T, all is okay.
So, i tried again with Scrivener3, but in the editor, all is okay.
Then, i tried Cmd-T in preferences : miracle ! it works !

But even doesn't work with clicking in the spécial area for changing font in preferences…strange…

Anyway, it's work now with Cmd-T ! ( i didn't think to try it before you remembered it to me… )

Thank you very very much.