The Crashers for Copies (or Even Cash!) Thread

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8587
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:01 pm Post

Your projects are stored elsewhere, so trashing the application won't affect them. :)
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

sh
shannon.woodward
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:54 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:34 pm Post

Got it to work ... thanks so much!

User avatar
RmB303
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Lancashire, UK

Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:07 pm Post

I think I've found one.
(P.s. This is my first post - and I've still got 19 days of my free trial left)

1. Open a new Scrivener Novel project.
2. Find a website with a java applet in it.
I've tried it with a few sites now, but "http://www.schubart.net/rc/" works just fine.
3. Right click on Research, and select Add...Web Page.
4. Add the webpage you found with a java applet
5. Click in the applet, and use it for a second or two.
6. Click on Novel Format, or Characters, or most other parts of the Binder ----> CRASH!!

This also seems freeze up the crash reporter once Scrivener is reopened.

Love the program - if I don't win a copy with the bug, I'll probably buy it anyway when my trial is up.

Tested using Scrivener 2.2, and Beta version 2.2.0.5, on Mac OS 10.6.8, iMac 2.8 GHz i7, 4GB RAM
Any other info required?

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19882
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:08 am Post

Hi,

Thanks for this. Looking at it and searching on it, it seems that this is a WebKit bug rather than a Scrivener bug, but hopefully I'll be able to find a workaround. Either way, I didn't know about the crash and I can reproduce it, so you certainly qualify for a free copy - I'll PM you with the details.

Thanks!
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

User avatar
RmB303
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Lancashire, UK

Thu Feb 02, 2012 6:16 pm Post

Thank you!

Hope the bug report is helpful, and allows you to prevent further crashes in the future.

Thank again - off to do some writing :-)

Do
Don85
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:26 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:43 pm Post

Hi,

I didn't know If you already know about this crash (probably you do), but when I use a dictionary in scrivener and switch to the dashboard (the screen with all the widgets) and use the dictionary there scrivener crashes.

1) Use the dictionary to search a word
2) Use the trackpad or F4 to go to the dashboard
3) Use the dictionary there (and there or just before that scrivener crashes).

I'm using scrivener 2.2, with Lion 10.7.3

Greets,
Don

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19882
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:19 am Post

Hi Don,

I can't reproduce that one, I'm afraid, although on some systems the popover dictionary is known to be a little flaky (in general). Could you please send your crash report (or let me know if you've already sent an automatic one so I can hunt it out)?

Thanks and all the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

lo
loulesko
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 1:55 am

Wed May 16, 2012 6:39 pm Post

This may be similar to the previous post. I can reproduce the bug consistently.

1. Hover the cursor over a word.

2. Click Control-Command-D for the system dictionary popup

3. Press the ESC key to close the popup and Scrivener crashes.

Thanks
Lou

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19882
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Thu May 17, 2012 8:49 am Post

Hi Lou,

Thanks. As you note, this is the same issue the other user above has - it's an issue on Lion for occasional users in general, and not isolated to Scrivener from what I've found online (although it seems bizarre in that a user might experience it in Scrivener but not in another program, whereas another user might not experience it in Scrivener but will find it crashes another program). It only affects a handful of users, too - I use the ctrl-cmd-D dictionary all of the time without any problems. That said, if you find that this only happens in one project whereas others are fine, and if you take that project to another computer and it crashes there, too, let me know and I'd be grateful if I could take a look at the project.

Thanks!

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

User avatar
LatteAddict
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:51 am
Platform: Mac

Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:54 pm Post

Here's one that is fully reproducible on my machine.
I'm using a MacBook Air 2012, 2GHz 8GB, Mountain Lion 10.8.2

1. Have document open, in full screen view (i.e. in its own "space" if you will)
2. File -- New Document -- Blank document. Name it, save it.
3. The new document is started, and immediately maximized
4. In my toolbar, I have the "LAYOUT" button, for choosing the workspace layout I like the most. Click it, choose a layout, hit USE.
5. The layout is implemented. Then hit the red close button in the layout dialog box.

Scrivener crashes.

I have sent in two reports already, but saved you from more.
Let me know if you can't find my crash dump and I'll email it to you, it's too big to be allowed in my post.

/Fredrik.

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19882
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Wed Jan 30, 2013 4:07 pm Post

Hi Fredrik,

I can't find your crash reports. Could you please give me something that will help me look them up, like the name you used in them or suchlike? Alternatively, please attach one to this thread.

Thanks!

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

User avatar
LatteAddict
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:51 am
Platform: Mac

Wed Jan 30, 2013 4:26 pm Post

Last name is Olsson.
Just sent you a new one, it should arrive about...
...now.

User avatar
LatteAddict
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:51 am
Platform: Mac

Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:47 am Post

Here's an interesting addition to the above: Thought I'd reproduce it again, in order to attach a crash dump to my post (as opposed to pasting into which I tried before, my bad).

Today, I found that Scrivener behaved slightly differently. Following my own directions from the other day, step 3 didn't work the same for me today: "The new document is started and immediately maximized".
For some reason, even though creating the new document with the first document open and in full screen/its own space, creating the new document made the screen switch back to my non-full-screen space, and display the new document there, as a window. And at that point, following the rest of my instructions did not create a crash.

After some research, I found that the difference is in step 0, i.e. before my instructions for reproducing:

It seems the already-open document must be started not from within Scrivener, but with Scrivener closed and by double-clicking the document in Finder. That document must also have be saved in full screen mode, so that immediately when Scrivener starts it goes into full screen.
This seems to keep Scrivener from bouncing back to the non-full-screen space when the new doc is created in step 2, which causes the crash to appear as described.

Oh well, not a crash everyone will run into every day, but a crash all the same :)

Attached pls find the log.

/Fredrik.
Attachments
crashlog.txt
(82.48 KiB) Downloaded 28 times

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19882
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Fri Feb 01, 2013 10:42 am Post

Thanks - and argh, that last crash report is completely different to the other two. Could you please try the following for me?

1. Remove all icons from your toolbar using Customize Toolbar...

2. Try it again and see if you still get the crash.

3. If so, please send me the crash report.

(Please trigger the first kind of crash you had rather than the second variation on it - I'll worry about that afterwards.)

The reason I ask you to try this is that the first crash reports indicate that the crash is occurring while the toolbar is validating, so removing all of the toolbar items should prevent that from happening, or at least cause the crash report to tell us something different.

Thanks!

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

User avatar
LatteAddict
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:51 am
Platform: Mac

Fri Feb 01, 2013 10:59 am Post

KB wrote:(Please trigger the first kind of crash you had rather than the second variation on it - I'll worry about that afterwards.)

Hm. Sorry about that — from my perspective it's just one crash, following the exact same set of instructions. So if there's two different causes in the dumps, that's really something I can't explain...

Anyways, I did it again, after removing all icons from my toolbar.

This time, step 4 obviously changes to "choose window > layouts > manage layouts" where I select a layout, then click USE as before.

In my eyes it's the exact same crash — I hope the log agrees... :)

/Fredrik.
Attachments
crash log no icons.txt
(82.79 KiB) Downloaded 32 times