Scriv4, Pandoc, Latex and citations

Oz
OzPhil
Platform: Mac

Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:30 am Post

Hi,
I am just getting started with Scrivener 3. I am an academic (technical) writer, so I really need to use citations extensively. I also use Latex a fair bit, certainly enough to get tired of its editing, compiling converting to pdf cycle.
From what I have read, the best way to use citations and compile a bibliography with Scrivener is by using it with Pandora. But I have a few questions about this that I wonder if someone on this list would be kind enough to answer:

1) My understanding is that Pandoc provides a way for me to produce many different document formats, including docx, latex, and others. But Scrivener seems to want to use MMD for latex, pdf, etc, and use Pandoc only for docx, xml and epub. Why not allow the use Pandoc for latex and other formats?

2) Does anyone have a simple example that shows how to insert citations and compile a bibliography? (I currently use Papers 3 but may switch to Bookends).

3) I have seen references to "Scrivomatic" (https://github.com/iandol/scrivomatic) and "Using Scrivener as a Pandoc editor/previewer" (https://orthostat.wordpress.com/2014/06 ... previewer/). These look like what I want to do - anyone have any experience with them, positive or negative?

But basically, any advice for getting started with citations/bibliography would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Ki
Kinsey

Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:38 am Post

Theses threads might be helpful.

There is a discussion on the use of Papers 3 with Scrivener 3 here: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=40699&hilit=citations

A more general discussion on Scrivener in an academic workflow: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=33880

nontroppo

Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:59 am Post

(1) You can use Pandoc using the MultiMarkDown format post-processing Panel in Scrivener; this output format is unfortunately named (it was debated during beta testing, but ended up staying the same despite allowing both MMD and Pandoc conversion)...