External links in footnotes?

User avatar
kaybaird
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:39 pm Post

How can I keep the active links I see in my Scrivener footnotes when MMD exports html for my webpage?

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 20612
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:48 pm Post

MultiMarkdown compile is by and large plain-text (there are a few exceptions for Scrivener's own built-in features, such as footnotes themselves), there is no such thing as a hyperlink in a plain-text file, which is why we use `[syntax](http://)` to create them in MMD. You should find those work just fine wherever you put them, footnotes included.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
kaybaird
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Wed Jun 08, 2016 12:43 pm Post

we use `[syntax](http://)` to create them in MMD.

Thanks, Ioa: this is good news.

Unfortunately I can't figure out how to use it. I tried all of these:

[syntax](http://www.kaybaird.com)[/syntax]
[syntax](http://www.kaybaird.com)
'[syntax](http://www.kaybaird.com)[/syntax]'.
'[syntax](http://www.kaybaird.com)'

-- and all I got was the plain-text URL.

Please educate a newbie.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 20612
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:32 pm Post

The correct method is the second from the top in your list. Here is a MultiMarkdown cheat sheet.

As for why that isn’t working, I’m not sure. :? I’ve attached a sample project that shows a simple footnote with a link in it, and in the split window below, the HTML snippet I get when compiling that project.
Attachments
ScrivMMD-links_in_footnotes.zip
(50.25 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
kaybaird
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:47 am
Contact:

Wed Jun 29, 2016 1:02 pm Post

Problem solved!

I was confused by your term "syntax", not understanding it was a generic placeholder; I thought it was literal code. Your example footnote and HTML clarified that.

But another main problem was that I was compiling before committing a "linked" (Inspector) note. Whatever changes I had just made in the note didn't get compiled. When I learned to click out of the note before I compiled, it worked. Inline notes don't need this tactic.

Thanks for hanging in there with me till we got this fixed!

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 20612
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:43 pm Post

Sorry about that! I was combining the explanation with the form, if you remove the punctuation, it reads, “we use syntax to create them…”. :)

But another main problem was that I was compiling before committing a “linked” (Inspector) note.


That is a known bug that will be fixed in the next minor update.

The details: inline footnotes by the way are simple text in the file. The concept there is in fact little different from applying italics to a range of text, inline annotations and footnotes are a special type of formatting. Putting the content into a little box off to the side on the other hand means that content is in a completely different file from the main text document, and so long as you have the footnote box open for editing that file has not been saved to the disk.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles