Cork Board text lost on project conversion to S3

jm
jmp308
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:51 am
Platform: Mac

Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:07 am Post

Hi, all.
I just upgraded to S3 and converted my current project. Everything came over intact and the index cards have the heading text but none of the notes that I added to each card.

Has anyone seen this and/or have a suggestion for recovery?

Thanks in advance!
Joe

br
brookter
Posts: 1780
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:09 am Post

Just so we understand the problem, could you describe what you see with the following setup please?

Binder on the left, cork board in the middle, inspector on the right, with the first inspector icon selected (looks like a notepad...) so it shows the Synopsis on the top and the Notes panel below.

Now right click on one of the index cards and select Open > in Editor.

What do you see in the Editor and in the two panels (Synopsis and Notes) of the Inspector please?


[Apologies if the questions seem very basic, but your post uses some terminology which isn't quite standard and as it's your first post, I just wanted to make sure we're talking about the same things so we can help.]

jm
jmp308
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:51 am
Platform: Mac

Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:45 pm Post

No apologies necessary!! (I'm a Scrivener relative newbie)

RE: What do you see in the Editor and in the two panels (Synopsis and Notes) of the Inspector please?
Card opens in cork board (TEXT IS PRESENT--THANK YOU!)

Synopsis shows card title at the top but no text

Notes are blank

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 22425
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:59 am Post

Is this a project you could send to our support address? If so we’d like to take a look at why the synopses did not seem to carry over. To do so, find the backed up copy of the original project (adjacent to the upgraded copy in Finder), right-click and compress it to a .zip for attachment.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

br
brookter
Posts: 1780
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:19 pm Post

Ha -- I was in the middle of typing a response which amounted to the same thing...

Amber is a member of L&L's staff while I'm just a user, so I'll gracefully and gratefully hand you over to him...

jm
jmp308
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:51 am
Platform: Mac

Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:22 pm Post

Will do; thanks for your help!
Joe

di
dianablue
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:47 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:49 pm Post

Did you ever get a solution to this? I just opened an old project for the first time since upgrading to Scriv3 and I have lost ALL my corkboard information For years, I have been outlining my books using the corkboard function. so to lose detailed outlines of all my books terrfies me. Please tell me there's a way to get this information back!

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 22425
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:21 pm Post

Well for one thing when a project updates a new copy of it is created first, leaving the original untouched. So even if the update doesn’t work right, and fails to transfer synopsis information over correctly, nothing should be truly lost. Please read more about the update procedure in the user manual, §5.1.5, Project Format Upgrades, pg. 60, for detailed info on what happens, and how to recover if an upgrade goes wrong.

Now as to the problem itself, there wasn’t any loss in the prior case. All of the synopses in the original v2 project were updated to the v3 project. So it could be what you’re seeing is different. As before, it would help to provide an example as we do not know of any update bugs that would fail to update synopses.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

di
dianablue
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:47 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:54 pm Post

Hi, Amber, Thank you so much for getting back to me so quickly. I'm trying my best not to freak out -- I am hoping the info is preserved in the backup.

What I'm saying is that the text in the "synopsis" section is blank. I know it had text there, as the color codes and the diagonal labels remain in the corkboard. I would not have put those labels on (indicating POV, type of scene, etc) were there not a description of the scene in that synopsis. In one image, you can see that the synopsis text is only preserved in documents where there is text in the document portion.

Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 10.52.34 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 10.52.34 AM.png (122.53 KiB) Viewed 802 times


Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 10.52.04 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 10.52.04 AM.png (99.42 KiB) Viewed 802 times


Please advise. I have been outlining my books like this for 12 years in Scrivener, so it's a LOT of information.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 22425
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:31 pm Post

Okay what would help the most is to go into Finder where this project is stored, and look for a similarly named copy with “Backup” at the end of the name. This is version 2 copy of the project that is untouched. Right-click on that and compress a copy, and if it is less than 10mb, send it to our support address via email. We can take a look at what went wrong and see if and how to fix it.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

di
dianablue
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:47 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:55 pm Post

Amber, Thank you so much. I sent a report in as you requested and then, separately, made a duplicate of the backup and opened it up on an old computer that does not have the updated Scrivener installed, and I found it. I'm so relieved!

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 22425
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:05 pm Post

Thank you! I just got the sample and have managed to reproduce the problem. I'll see what I can find out about why this is happening, and will let you know.

In the meanwhile, as you note, the backup is fine---I opened it in 2.9 and everything is there. So that is the copy you should keep safe for now. Keep that .zip you made handy, as you can use it to restore from if for any reason you need to.

Hmm, actually on closer examination I'm not seeing the same problem, unfortunately. I did have the font size/card size set to a bad combination so they looked empty, but they are in fact all intact. I'll be sending you a copy of the updated project in response to your email, so you can take a look at it.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles