Scrivener for language learning

Platform: Mac

Thu Feb 10, 2011 3:21 pm Post

I've not seen any posts on using Scrivener as a tool for language learning. I've been doing this now for a few months and found it really useful, so I thought I'd describe the (simple) method I use in case anybody else finds it helpful (or in case there are improvements I could use).

I'm learning Latin using Lingua Per Se Illustrata, which is an beginners textbook entirely in Latin. It's possible to buy a CD of the course, which includes both written and audio versions of the text, in a dedicated program which only runs on Windows, which is why I don't use it (quite apart from the fact that the program is fairly old and clunky now).

First of all, I had to convert the text to pdf format (it's in jpg on the CD), then I imported both the pdfs and the mp3s to Scrivener. (By the way, I do own the CD - no laws were harmed in the making of this post...) So now, as I work through the textbook, my workflow is...

• Read through the chapter text aloud twice. [Single document window]

• Listen to the mp3, transcribing the Latin (into Latin). [Horizontally split window, mp3 in the top, text document below, with the focus on the lower window and using the Cmd-Enter shortcut key to start and stop the audio. I use the automatic rewinding facility, so I always hear the previous 3 seconds.]

• Complete the questions at the end of the Chapter. [Horizontally split window, pdf in the top, text document below, focus on the lower window and paging up and down through the pdf using the Ctrl-Opt-Cmd-Up and Ctrl-Opt-Cmd-Down shortcuts. I also have the pdf in a separate Quicklook window for reference.]