The Meaning of Writing

Bl
Blewitt
Platform: Windows

Tue Nov 01, 2016 7:05 am Post

I wrote a large quantity of so-called "bunk writing" before things suddenly came together and I finally wrote a good book. I identified with Bradley Smith in this regard, since he too had written a lot of "bunk stuff" before things had suddenly come together for him. Bradley Smith, a working-class guy who was trying to become a success in a "classy" sector of society, called himself a "failed literary writer," and in a post I made here I said that as a writer I saw myself as did Bradley Smith, i.e., a failed literary writer. My thought was that like Bradley Smith I wrote serious stuff, as opposed to entertainment, and I was therefore a "literary" writer; in addition, like Bradley Smith, I expected that I would never enjoy material success as a writer. Okay, since I wrote that post I have revised my opinion regarding what my being a writer means to me. Unlike Bradley Smith being acknowledged as a peer by people of the literary society has never been an issue with me regarding my writing. Writing has always been something very private with me. For instance, there's a local writer whom I knew for 10 years before he learned that I too did writing. I hadn't been doing writing for all of those 10 years, but for many of those years I had been doing such, and when I do writing I do it in a serious way and it becomes the number one priority. For me, as I have said, writing is very much a private thing. It has always been such and it always will be. I want to be read very badly, and I want history to say it was me who wrote the book, but I really don't care to be a writer. It's not a big deal, that is to say, and it never really has been.

Pa
PaigeElizabethTurner

Wed Nov 23, 2016 1:35 pm Post

Belated response to this thread, but I can be excused because I'm a newbie!!