Better Final Draft support coming...

ni
nib
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:43 pm

Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:47 pm Post

I'd like to try the "test app" but it crashes. If it'd be helpful I'd send the crash report.

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19870
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:40 pm Post

Please do send the crash report if you are running Leopard. If you are running Tiger, it won't have worked because it was built for Leopard only. I'll set it for Tiger & Leopard when I update it.
Best,
Keith

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19870
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:35 pm Post

Re-download (http://www.literatureandlatte.com/dlbet ... utTest.zip) to check out two-page display (I said it wouldn't happen, then I realised it wasn't very difficult to place the text areas in different locations for this purpose). You can set it to facing pages via the View menu - you can also set the space between the pages via the Set Margins... menu item.

Let me know what you think.

Best,
Keith

ni
nib
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:43 pm

Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:43 pm Post

I'm using Tiger, so that explains it. I'm not an early adopter but I did just get this new-fangled thing called a "mobile."

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19870
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Feb 03, 2008 7:02 pm Post

Try the re-posted download. I changed the deployment target to Tiger. It should work, but I haven't tested it.
Best,
Keith

No
Novatlan
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 12:54 pm

Sun Feb 03, 2008 7:18 pm Post

The 2-pages mode is great!!! Please integrate this into Scrivener.
I have one small request: Would it be possible to let the left page fade out when the right page is full

Example:

1 2
When page 2 is full and a page 3 is created:

2 3

I hope this is understandable^^

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19870
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Feb 03, 2008 7:22 pm Post

Novatlan - afraid not. That would be a much bigger undertaking! It's as it is or nothing! :)
All the best,
Keith

ni
nib
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:43 pm

Sun Feb 03, 2008 7:50 pm Post

Keith:

It works fine now with Tiger! Many thanks.

User avatar
xiamenese
Posts: 3575
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:32 am
Platform: Mac
Location: London or Exeter, UK.

Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:09 am Post

Hi Keith,

Works fine for me on Revision 1 MBP 2.16 GHz running 10.5.1. I really don't think I'm going to need it, but I'm glad that it seems not to be causing you great headaches ... other than all the enhancement demands that you're going to be have to be answering.

:)

Mark

Mi
MicMac
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 6:32 pm

Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:44 pm Post

Hi


Very, very nice the testapp!


Oh, just one more thing.

Can you make the horizontal scrollbar visible only when it is needed?

Mic

User avatar
popcornflix
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:18 pm
Location: Row 15 Seat 107

Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:27 pm Post

First of all, THANK YOU!

Anything that makes the FD/Scrivener process smoother is greatly appreciated.

PAGE VIEW looks very good. If we can't have (or even ask for) Character Names and Dialogue to be kept on the same page, would you be so kind as to add "Insert Page Break" so we can manually break the pages in the right places for a screenplay? The "Page break" wouldn't have any impact outside of the Page View. It would just be a way to solve the pagination problem without making your hair fall out.

Also, may we please have page numbers on the final version of Page View? Page numbers mean a lot to screenwriters.

Thanks again for continuing to make the life of screenwriters easier and more creative.
.:popcornFlix:.

User avatar
gr
Posts: 1665
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:57 am
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Florida

Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:29 pm Post

The page numbering is given at the bottom of the window in the testapp.

User avatar
popcornflix
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:18 pm
Location: Row 15 Seat 107

Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:37 pm Post

Sorry if my choice of words was imprecise. I'm asking for page numbers on the pages, as in a screenplay.

(But Insert Page Break is more important, IMHO.)
.:popcornFlix:.

User avatar
Sean Coffee
Posts: 509
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 7:10 pm

Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:11 pm Post

Keith:

I actually disagree with popcornflix here. Page breaks and page numbers are all formatting tools that I don't think belong in Scrivener. In my mind, the great thing about Scriv is that it allows me to "just write" -- without worrying about page count, line breaks and story beats. That's editing stuff, that's second/third/eleventh/Final draft stuff. It's taken me a long time to shed what I consider to be bad writing habits (editing as I go, etc.), and page numbers on the screen would shove a lot of that back in my face.

But, I suppose, if these features are easy for you to implement and you are so inclined, others shouldn't suffer for my lack of discipline. I just hope I'll be able to turn them off.

Best,

S

P.S. Oh, and thanks for the new FD stuff!!

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19870
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Mon Feb 04, 2008 5:06 pm Post

No page numbers, I'm afraid. You can already find a page using the footer info. If you had a margin of 0 pixels, there would be no space for page numbers anyway. (This is exactly the sort of request that makes me blanch at the idea of a pages mode again... :) )

As for insert page break - Scrivener already has such a feature accessible via the Edit > Insert menu...

Best,
Keith