Scrivener on Leopard

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19148
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:41 pm Post

As for the Typewriter icon - my bad, that is a screenshot of the latest Scrivener version which is not a beta yet. Typewriter scrolling is now an option in the Text menu rather than in the Preferences, as I decided that I liked switching between it in the main editor more easily (as several users have suggested). Obviously you can have a separate setting for full screen still, but also for your different editors, too.

As for the darker toolbar - read my first post. Honestly, you'll get used to it. I didn't like it at first, but now I love it. And, of course, "blame nat me" - as you can see from the Apple website, this is the new Leopard interface. I did nothing to the toolbar.

Best,
Keith

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 20579
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:46 pm Post

Sigh, all of my typewriter emulator dreams smashed. ;)
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
jottce
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 2:28 pm

Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:18 pm Post

AmberV wrote:Sigh, all of my typewriter emulator dreams smashed. ;)


Sigh and mine …

Oh, well. I could just remove the delete key from my keyboard and unplug the mouse, I guess. ;-)

Best,
Jeanne

Kh
Khadrelt
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:22 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Utah, USA
Contact:

Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:41 pm Post

Or...just keep typing and don't go back to make any revisions...

Discipline! :wink:
And that, my Liege, is how we know the earth to be banana-shaped.

St
SteveJ
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:49 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA

Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:00 pm Post

KB wrote:"blame nat me"


Ahem. "Blameth nat me"...?

:)

Steve (Chaucerian smart-ass)

ti
tim
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:31 pm Post

I believe that's flameth nat me.

Tim (cyberian smart-ass)
In theory, there's no difference
between theory and practice.
In practice, there is.

Yogi Berra

User avatar
Siren
Posts: 734
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 11:29 am
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: U.K.

Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:15 pm Post

SteveJ wrote:Ahem. "Blameth nat me"...?


Hmmm. Not sure. Might be some sort of subjunctive form (as in "I pray you blame nat me") rather than an imperative?

Siren (grammarian smart-ass who has never read any Chaucer) :-)

User avatar
Siren
Posts: 734
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 11:29 am
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: U.K.

Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:22 pm Post

I can't believe I just posted that. What sort of weirdo forum degenerates into discussion of Chaucerian grammar??? :-)

ti
tim
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:30 pm Post

What sort of weirdo forum degenerates into discussion of Chaucerian grammar???

This one.

Tim
In theory, there's no difference
between theory and practice.
In practice, there is.


Yogi Berra

Hu
Hugh
Posts: 2337
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:05 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: UK

Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:35 pm Post

Why not? :D

Here's the full quote: "Blameth nat me if that ye chese amys." It's what the host says to the contestants on Deal or No Deal .

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 19148
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:39 pm Post

Well, I never did finish my PhD in med. lit. So shooteth me.

ho
howarth
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:53 am

Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:44 pm Post

I found out why Safari 3.0 won't load on any of my machines: it wants to find Safari 2 standing by itself in the Applications folder. That is a throwback to old requirements. In Tiger, it's permitted to store applications in folders, labeled by type. Guess I will wait a while longer.

User avatar
antony
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 7:50 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:57 pm Post

howarth wrote:I found out why Safari 3.0 won't load on any of my machines: it wants to find Safari 2 standing by itself in the Applications folder. That is a throwback to old requirements. In Tiger, it's permitted to store applications in folders, labeled by type. Guess I will wait a while longer.


I believe that's only for installation purposes, though, because Saf 3 overwrites both the Saf 2 application and the core Webkit service in OSX. All you have to do is move (or copy, should work just as well) the Saf 2 app back into the Mac HD/Applications folder, install Saf 3... then move Saf 3 out to wherever you normally store your apps.

(Personally I leave all system apps in the MacHD/Apps folder anyway, because I can always reinstall them from the system disks. Third-party apps I keep in a separate, self-created ~/Applications folder.)
Antony Johnston
antonyjohnston.com

ho
howarth
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:53 am

Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:11 pm Post

Antony, thanks for the tip. I will try it out. Maybe after Apple gets done issuing security updates and the complaints about stability ease off.

md
md
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:45 pm

Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:22 am Post

Keith,

I definitely think the darker toolbar's the way to go. (Does it have an official name? Unbrushed metal?) One thing: do you have any plans to change the colour of the status bar at the bottom to match, a la iTunes or Journler? The discrepancy's making my eyeballs itch, now that I've had the misfortune to notice it.

That said, going from the rest of the comments, it seems no-one else's bothered by it. Could well just be me. Sulk.